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Attached is the official report on our audit assessing the Renton Police Department’s compliance
with RCW 43.101.135, which requires law enforcement agencies notify the Criminal Justice
Training Commission of certain incidents involving officers.

Our independent audits provide essential accountability and transparency of law enforcement
agency operations. These audits are valuable to local governments, the Legislature and the public
in assessing police accountability efforts.
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AUDIT RESULTS

This report contains the results of our independent compliance audit of the Renton Police
Department from January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023.

We conducted the audit under the authority of RCW 43.101.465. This law allows the Criminal
Justice Training Commission (CJTC) to request the Office of the Washington State Auditor to
audit any law enforcement agency to ensure it is following laws, policies and procedures governing
the training and certification of the police officers and corrections officers it employs.

Based on CJTC’s request, we examined whether the Renton Police Department complied with
RCW 43.101.135. This law requires law enforcement agencies to notify the CITC within 15 days
when any of their officers:

e Have faced an initial disciplinary decision for alleged behavior or conduct that may result
in suspension or revocation of certification

e Leave employment with the agency for any reason
e Use force that causes death or serious injury

e Are charged with a crime

This law helps ensure the CJTC is aware of police or corrections officers who have engaged in
conduct that could lead to their suspension or decertification. Police and corrections officers must
obtain and maintain certification to be employed in Washington. The CJTC is responsible for
certifying officers when they pass required training and background checks and decertifying them
if they engage in any conduct that requires revocation. The CJTC must decertify officers if they
are:

e Convicted of a felony offense, domestic violence or various sex crimes
e Prohibited from possessing a firearm
e Terminated from employment for unlawfully using force that resulted in death or serious

injury, for failing to intervene or report excessive use of force or for making false
statements

The CJTC can revoke or suspend certifications for other misconduct, including sexual harassment,
fraud and using firearms, other weapons or vehicles recklessly. Officers who are decertified for
engaging in these types of misconduct cannot be employed at any law enforcement agency in
Washington even if they quit before an investigation is complete.
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Methodology

Our audit involved reviewing data from the CJTC, as well as personnel records, internal affairs
investigation files and disciplinary records from the Renton Police Department. We compared the
number of incidents reported to the CJTC to the number the Renton Police Department’s records
indicated. We also reviewed agency policies and procedures regarding the reporting requirements
and interviewed officials responsible for notifying CJTC of these incidents.

Results in brief

We found that the Renton Police Department mostly complied with the law. The Department
notified CJTC of all 24 officers who left the Department during the audit period, but sent two
notifications after the 15-day deadline.

The Department also did not inform the CJTC about a use of force incident that occurred in 2022
until after the Department became aware of our audit and reviewed the notification requirements.
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AUDIT FINDINGS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

Officer Separation

The Department notified the CJTC of all 24 officers who left employment during the audit
period, but sent two notifications after the 15-day deadline

Law enforcement agencies are required to notify the Criminal Justice Training Commission
(CJTC) within 15 days when any of their officers’ separate employment for any reason, including
termination, resignation or retirement. The law also requires law enforcement agencies to report
their reasoning if they allow an officer to resign or retire in lieu of termination. This must include
the results of any investigations. The CJTC created a “Notice of Officer Separation” form to
facilitate such notifications. The form includes areas to fill in basic demographic information,
check boxes to mark the reason for separation (for example: resignation, termination, retirement),
and a field to write details of an applicable investigation. The form also includes check boxes to
mark “yes” or “no” for the following questions:

e Ifresignation, retirement, or medical separation: did the officer do so in lieu of termination?

e Was the officer under investigation or accused of any wrongdoing or misconduct at the
time of separation?

The Department’s administrative services division is primarily responsible for completing the
separation form and sending it to the CJTC. The division uses a checklist that outlines the steps
that the Department needs to complete when an officer leaves it. It includes submitting the
separation form to the CJTC within 15 days. The Department Chief signs every form before the
Department sends it to the CJTC.

If an officer retires or resigns in lieu of termination, the Chief said he would complete the form
and submit it to the CJTC so he can document the separation details required.

We found 24 officers left the Department between 2022 and 2023. The Department gave us emails
and completed “Notice of Officer Separation” forms showing it notified the CJTC of all
separations. However, the Department sent two notifications after the 15-day deadline — three days
late after an officer retired and four days late after an officer separated for medical reasons.
Department leadership did not know why these forms were submitted late.
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Use of Force

Two officers used deadly force during the audit period, but the Department only notified the
CJTC after being informed of the audit

Law enforcement agencies are required to notify the CJITC within 15 days of the incident when an
officer uses force that causes death or serious injury. These requirements are also outlined in
policy. The Department uses a checklist for critical incidents that includes a task to submit a notice
to the CJTC within 15 days. This task is assigned to command staff to complete.

In 2022, two officers were involved in a use of force incident, but the Department did not notify
the CJTC until after the Department became aware of our audit and reviewed the notification
requirements. After speaking with CJTC, the Department submitted the notifications, which were
935 days after the deadline. The Chief said it was an oversight.

We did not find any other use of force incidents that required reporting during the audit period.

Misconduct

The Department did not discipline any officers for behavior or conduct that could result in
decertification during the audit period

Law enforcement agencies are required to notify the CJTC within 15 days of an initial disciplinary
decision for an officer whose alleged behavior or conduct may result in decertification under
RCW 43.101.105. Department policy states these reporting requirements, and details how the
Department handles personnel complaints.

Complaints can be reported through internal or external sources. If reported externally, the
Department requires the reporter to fill out a citizen complaint form, though they can also accept
verbal complaints if needed. Any department member can accept a complaint, which they would
then give to the involved member’s supervisor. The supervisor and a deputy chief review the
complaint and investigate whether there is any truth to the allegation and if there is a policy
violation.

The Department will inform the reporting party of any dismissed complaints and explain its
conclusions. If the complaint has merit and could lead to criminal charges, the Chief may request
an outside agency conduct the investigation. If the complaint is a noncriminal policy violation,
Department personnel investigate the actions and submit its findings to a review board.

If the board sustains an allegation, the Chief and deputy chiefs determine if it needs to be reported
to the CJTC. If required, a deputy chief will report it within 15 days. The review board would also
recommend disciplinary actions for any policy violation, and the Chief would review the
recommendation to make the final decision on the discipline to impose.
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The Department had one internal investigation in 2023 that went to the review board. It resulted
in a sustained finding. The Department did not notify the CJTC of its initial disciplinary decision
because it did not think the violation fell under any of the RCW categories that required reporting.
During the audit, we shared details of the sustained finding with CJTC employees responsible for
investigating and charging decertification cases and they reviewed the complaint. The CJTC
employees agreed the Department did not need to notify them about it.

The Department could improve its policies and procedures by clearly defining who is responsible
for submitting notifications to the CJTC

Policy requires the Department to submit sustained misconduct notifications, but it does not
specify who is responsible for reporting them to the CJTC. Without a clear assignment of
responsibility, the Department may unintentionally miss or fail to submit these notifications to the
CJTC within the 15-day deadline.

Criminal Charges

No officers were charged with a crime during the audit period, so the Department did not need
to notify the CJTC

Law enforcement agencies must notify the CJTC within 15 days if an officer is charged with a
crime. Department policy requires the administrative division commander to submit the notice. In
addition, agencies must also have a formal policy requiring officers to report any pending criminal
charges and resulting dispositions to their agency. Department policy requires officers to notify
their immediate supervisors of any past or current criminal detention, arrest, charge, plea or
conviction from any state or country, regardless of whether the matter was dropped or rejected, is
currently pending or is on appeal, and regardless of the penalty or sentence, if any.

The Department reported that no officers were charged with a crime during the audit period. We
also found no indication of such occurrences. The Chief explained that officers must report any
criminal charges to their agency. In addition, Washington state law enforcement agencies have a
mutual understanding to notify each other if they arrest an officer.

Recommendations
We recommend the Renton Police Department:

e Document all processes related to required notifications to the CJTC in policies or
procedures

e Ensure it sends all notifications to the CJTC by the 15-day deadline
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DEPARTMENT RESPONSE

The Renton Police Department appreciates the diligence and professionalism of the Office of the
Washington State Auditor in their review of our compliance with RCW 43.101.135. The report is an
accurate representation of the Renton Police Department's adherence to notifying the Washington
Criminal Justice Training Center between January 1, 2022, and December 31, 2023, of incidents as
defined in the RCW.

To address the auditor's recommendations the department will ensure that processes related to
required notifications are codified in our policies and standard operating procedures, and that
those notifications are made within the 15-day deadline.

The Renton Police Department takes this responsibility genuinely and are committed to
strengthening our processes to ensure conformity with the law and greater transparency and trust
with our community. We appreciate the Office of the Washington State Auditor for their helpin
identifying these opportunities for improvement.
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The State Auditor’s Office is established in the Washington State Constitution and is part of the
executive branch of state government. The State Auditor is elected by the people of Washington
and serves four-year terms.

We work with state agencies, local governments and the public to achieve our vision of increasing
trust in government by helping governments work better and deliver higher value.

In fulfilling our mission to provide citizens with independent and transparent examinations of how
state and local governments use public funds, we hold ourselves to those same standards by
continually improving our audit quality and operational efficiency, and by developing highly
engaged and committed employees.

As an agency, the State Auditor’s Office has the independence necessary to objectively perform
audits, attestation engagements and investigations. Our work is designed to comply with
professional standards as well as to satisfy the requirements of federal, state and local laws. The
Office also has an extensive quality control program and undergoes regular external peer review
to ensure our work meets the highest possible standards of accuracy, objectivity and clarity.

Our audits look at financial information and compliance with federal, state and local laws for all
local governments, including schools, and all state agencies, including institutions of higher
education. In addition, we conduct performance audits and cybersecurity audits of state agencies
and local governments, as well as state whistleblower, fraud and citizen hotline investigations.

The results of our work are available to everyone through the more than 2,000 reports we publish
each year on our website, www.sao.wa.gov. Additionally, we share regular news and other
information via an email subscription service and social media channels.

We take our role as partners in accountability seriously. The Office provides training and technical
assistance to governments both directly and through partnerships with other governmental support
organizations.

Stay connected at sao.wa.gov Other ways to stay in touch
e Find your audit team e Main telephone:
e Request public records (564) 999-0950
e Search BARS Manuals (GAAP and . .
cash), and find reporting templates e Toll-free Citizen Hotline:

e Learn about our training workshops (866) 902-3900

and on-demand videos

e Discover which governments serve you
— enter an address on our map

e Explore public financial data
with the Financial Intelligence Tool

e FEmail:
webmaster(@sao.wa.gov

Office of the Washington State Auditor sao.wa.gov


http://www.sao.wa.gov/
https://sao.wa.gov/about-audits/find-your-audit-team/
https://sao.wa.gov/about-public-records/
https://sao.wa.gov/bars-annual-filing/bars-gaap-manual/
https://sao.wa.gov/bars-annual-filing/bars-cash-manual/
https://sao.wa.gov/bars-annual-filing/bars-reporting-templates/
https://sao.wa.gov/bars-annual-filing/filing-training-and-workshops/
https://sao.wa.gov/improving-government/improvement-training-videos/
https://sao.wa.gov/reports-data/explore-governments-that-serve-you/
https://portal.sao.wa.gov/FIT/
mailto:webmaster@sao.wa.gov

	Report on Police Training and Certification Audit
	Audit Results
	This report contains the results of our independent compliance audit of the Renton Police Department from January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2023.
	We conducted the audit under the authority of RCW 43.101.465. This law allows the Criminal Justice Training Commission (CJTC) to request the Office of the Washington State Auditor to audit any law enforcement agency to ensure it is following laws, pol...
	Based on CJTC’s request, we examined whether the Renton Police Department complied with RCW 43.101.135. This law requires law enforcement agencies to notify the CJTC within 15 days when any of their officers:
	 Have faced an initial disciplinary decision for alleged behavior or conduct that may result in suspension or revocation of certification
	 Leave employment with the agency for any reason
	 Use force that causes death or serious injury
	 Are charged with a crime
	This law helps ensure the CJTC is aware of police or corrections officers who have engaged in conduct that could lead to their suspension or decertification. Police and corrections officers must obtain and maintain certification to be employed in Wash...
	 Convicted of a felony offense, domestic violence or various sex crimes
	 Prohibited from possessing a firearm
	 Terminated from employment for unlawfully using force that resulted in death or serious injury, for failing to intervene or report excessive use of force or for making false statements
	The CJTC can revoke or suspend certifications for other misconduct, including sexual harassment, fraud and using firearms, other weapons or vehicles recklessly. Officers who are decertified for engaging in these types of misconduct cannot be employed ...
	Methodology
	Results in brief
	We found that the Renton Police Department mostly complied with the law. The Department notified CJTC of all 24 officers who left the Department during the audit period, but sent two notifications after the 15-day deadline.
	The Department also did not inform the CJTC about a use of force incident that occurred in 2022 until after the Department became aware of our audit and reviewed the notification requirements.

	AUDIT Findings and Recommendations
	Officer Separation
	Use of Force
	Misconduct
	Criminal Charges

	Department Response

